Buy For Kindle

NOTE: Printed versions of the Kirov series are available and will also display on Amazon when you click the “For Kindle” link.



John Schettler’s Kirov Series takes us to the frozen north

The Kirov Series now takes us to the frozen north in Ice War, Volume VI in the Next War segment of the  saga, and it’s one of the best in the series. With NATO planning its counter offensives in Norway and Europe, Karpov and the Pacific Fleet are recalled to Severomorsk, but getting there will not be easy. After their strange displacement to the future of the world they helped create with their many interventions in the past, The fleet slipped back into the war we’ve been following and put into Vladivostok at the end of Volume V, Deep Blue. Now Karpov hopes to get as far north as possible before his fleet is discovered, as the Americans believe it perished in the eruption of the Demon Volcano.

 It isn’t easy to hide that many warships, even in the vast ocean spaces of the Pacific, and soon the Americans are investigating the sudden appearance of unknown ships emerging from the Sea of Okhotsk and heading north. What follows is a classic naval pursuit, as Captain Stark and the Nimitz Strike Group is dispatched to investigate the contacts. Karpov must get through the vast Bering Sea, and then pass the narrow strait between Siberia and Alaska, a place he calls “The Gates of Hell.” It is a harrowing warning of the action that will ensue in this volume, which features a riveting sea chase, gripping sub duels, and later, the Air, Land and Sea battles for the North Cape.

The Pacific Fleet eventually comes home to Severomorsk, but not without paying a price. Karpov and company are then immediately pulled into the naval action in the Norwegian Sea when Tyrenkov orders the seizure and reinforcement of the remote northern Islands of Svalbard. The British are leading the NATO effort to make a helicopter assault to recapture those islands, even while Karpov is delivering reinforcements for the Russians. Then the US Washington Strike Group gets into the action under Captain Tanner, and things really begin to heat up in a series of naval duels on and under the sea.

The land action in the North Cape is briefly covered in one segment, but that external battle is counterpointed by a simmering internal conflict aboard Kirov precipitated by the dark presence of Colonel Voronin, the ship’s new Zampolit, or Political Officer. The Black Crow, as the crew comes to call him, is sticking his nose into the affairs of the ship, and this inevitably draws sparks with Karpov, right from the outset of this volume. There are some very tense confrontations on the bridge, and both sides scheme to get the upper hand in the little power struggle. Knowing Karpov as they do, series veterans know what to expect when Voronin’s transgressions rub him the wrong way.

All in all, Ice War is presented with good depth and loaded with naval / air action. Battles here cover the Bering Sea Chase, action off Svalbard, NATO’s counterattack in the North Cape, and the climactic “Battle of the Barents Sea.” At the end, the author tips us off on what’s coming next, the big NATO offensive in Europe, code named Eagle Rising. As the Ice War concludes, we asked John where the series is going next.

“The conclusion of Ice War will present an interesting discussion between Karpov, Fedorov and Tyrenkov, and that will lead them on a special mission as we go to the ground war in Europe, NATO’s big offensive to liberate the Russian occupied Baltic States. There we will meet Brigadier Berg in the 21st Panzer Brigade, and of course Brigadier Kinlan with the British contingent, and they will take us into that ground war, which will really decide Russia’s fate in this war.”

“What about the Chinese? Is the conflict in the Pacific over?”

“No. That end of the war suffered a severe check with the eruption of the Demon Volcano, but that war resumes after a three week interruption, so I’ll also be covering the US campaign into the East China Sea, the Chinese intervention in Korea, and then Argos Fire leads a combined NATO group into the South China Sea again as the West goes on the offensive in an attempt to break the Chinese Navy.”

“Does Kirov get in on that action?”

“Not directly, as the Fleet is in the north now, but there will be a few twists yet to come involving Kirov and crew. I have something else planned for them, so stay tuned.”

Catch all the action and join the Ice War, as volume 6 in the season goes on sale Aug 1st..


Kirov Saga
Ice War

John Schettler

Part I – Seven Skunks
Part II – Strange Bedfellows
Part III – Harried North
Part IV – Hidden Danger
Part V – The Gates of Hell
Part VI – Jeremiah
Part VII – Ardent Fire
Part VIII– Regrouping
Part IX – Cold Fury
Part X – Sea Eagle
Part XI – Submarines
Part XII – Free Radicals

316 Pages, 36 Chapters, about 103,750 words.
Kindle Version: $4.99 ~ Quality Trade Paperback: $19.99

The Kirov Series:

Buy For Kindle

NOTE: Printed versions of the Kirov series are available and will also display on Amazon when you click the “For Kindle” link.

The Next War!!

This season has a dual role, Since the entire story is cyclical, a great loop in time, the volumes of this season have a dual purpose. They will conclude the regular 40 book series for veteran readers, tying off all story lines, but they will also stand as a grand prelude to the 40 book series for new readers, as these events focus on what would have happened in 2021 if Kirov had not shifted to the past..

So if you’ve wondered about the Kirov Series, but find its vast canvas too intimidating to grasp, why not jump in right here? Start with book 41, Homecoming. We’re sure you’ll enjoy the ride!








Contact Us Here